Le Mans

The 84th running of the famous 24 Hours of Le Mans will take place between the 18th and 19th of June in 2016. It will see the return of the famous Ford GT at Le Mans as well as an increase in the number of entrants from 56 to 58 cars, just two shy of the all-time record number of starters. The ‘Garage 56’ programme returns, with a specially adapted Morgan LMP2 designed to allow a quadruple amputee to take part in the famous race.

Nick Tandy, Earl Bamber, the absent Nico Hulkenberg and Porsche are the reigning LMP1 champions, with Corvette Racing’s Oliver Gavin, Tommy Milner and Jordan Taylor the current champions in GTE Pro. KCMG’s Matthew Howson, Richard Bradley and Nicholas Lapierre won last year’s race in LMP2, whilst Viktor Shaitar, Aleksey Basov and Andrea Bertolini for SMP Racing took honours in the GTE Am in 2015.

There will be a power limit imposed for 2016 following the record-breaking lap times seen last year, with the cars restricted to 1000 horsepower from the combined engine and hybrid for LMP1 cars at any one time.

This will be updated.